

Photo contributed

Pictured are, left to right - Diana Fotinatos, Cheryl Graham, Geri Margin, Linda Sharkey, Paula Munger, (AB members), Peg Cozine-Bourne (principal), Shelly Mongelli (assistant principal), Cheyenne Mitchell, Kimberly Newman, Rachel Billups (teachers), and Stephanie Webster (parent facilitator). Not pictured, AB members Jay Atkinson, Bruce Cunningham, and Richard Eckman.

## St. James Foundation provides grant to Southport Elementary School educators to support STEM projects

The St. James Foundation recently distributed a \$3,100 grant to Southport Elementary School Principal Peg Cozine-Bourne, Assistant Principal Shelly Mongelli, and teachers Rachel Billups, Kimberly Newman and Cheyenne Mitchell to support STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) programs in the third, fourth and fifth grades.

Educators will use the grant to develop a student program to study water pollution effects on Brunswick County's ecosystem, as well as finance modeling of human lung systems, designing and engineering real-working cars, and purchasing online mathematics activities. The grant will also afford teachers the ability to purchase math manipulatives and a kit to study the human body, including hands-on models of cardiac, skeletal, and digestive systems.

The St. James Foundation, affiliated with the St. James Service Club, was initially funded by the three St. James developer families - Wright, Atkinson, and Smith/Robinette. The North Carolina Community Foundation (NCCF) manages the foundation's endowment fund with a long-term investment strategy allowing annual distributions. Future grants will support, in perpetuity, continued improvements in education and opportunities for Brunswick County youth. Through NCCF, contributors have the flexibility to

donate tax-deductible gifts such as personal items, equities, required minimum distributions (RMDs) from qualified retirement plans, as well as contributions from wills and estate plans.

The foundation's inaugural Advisory Board includes Jay Atkinson, Bruce Cunningham, Richard Eckman, Diana Fotinatos, Geri Margin, Paula Munger, Linda Sharkey, and Cheryl Graham serving as the St. James Service Club's non-voting representative.

For more information, visit www.sjserviceclub.org and click on "Foundation" in the toolbar at the top of the home